Menu Close

India Visa Eligibility

The India Visa eligibility is essential before you can apply and obtain the necessary authorization to enter India.

The India e-Visa is currently available to citizens of nearly 175 countries. This means that you do not need to apply for a regular Visa if you intend to visit for tourism, business or medical visits. You can simply apply online and obtain the necessary entry authorization to visit India.

Some useful points about e-Visa are:

  1. Tourist Visa for India can be applied for 30 days, 1 year and 5 years – these allow multiple entries within a calendar year
  2. Business Visa for India and Medical Visa for India are both valid for 1 year and allow multiple entries
  3. e-Visa is non-extendable, non-convertible
  4. International Travelers are not required to have proof of hotel booking or flight ticket. However proof of sufficient money to spend during his/her stay in India is helpful.
India Visa Eligibility

It is advisable to apply 7 days in advance of the date of arrival especially during the peak season (October – March). Remember to account for the standard Immigration process time which is 4 business days in duration.

Citizens of the following countries are eligible to apply for an India e-Visa:

Andorra Angola Anguilla Antigua & Barbuda Argentina Armenia Aruba Australia Austria Azerbaijan
Bahamas Barbados Belgium Belize Bolivia Bosnia & Herzegovina Botswana Brazil Brunei Bulgaria
Burundi Cambodia Cameroon Canada Cape Verde Cayman Islands Chile China China- SAR Hongkong China- SAR Macau
Colombia Comoros Cook Islands Costa Rica Cote d’lvoire Croatia Cuba Cyprus Czech Republic Denmark
Djibouti Dominica Dominican Republic East Timor Ecuador El Salvador Eritrea Estonia Fiji Finland
France Gabon Gambia Georgia Germany Ghana Greece Grenada Guatemala Guinea
Guyana Haiti Honduras Hungary Iceland Indonesia Iran Ireland Israel Italy
Jamaica Japan Jordan Kazakhstan Kenya Kiribati Kyrgyzstan Laos Latvia Lesotho
Liberia Liechtenstein Lithuania Luxembourg Madagascar Malawi Malaysia Mali Malta Marshall Islands
Mauritius Mexico Micronesia Moldova Monaco Mongolia Montenegro Montserrat Mozambique Myanmar
Namibia Nauru Netherlands New Zealand Nicaragua Niger Niue Island Norway Oman Palau
Palestine Panama Papua New Guinea Paraguay Peru Philippines Poland Portugal Qatar Republic of Korea
Republic of Macedonia Romania Russia Rwanda Saint Christopher and Nevis Saint Lucia Saint Vincent & the Grenadines Samoa San Marino Senegal
Serbia Seychelles Sierra Leone Singapore Slovakia Slovenia Solomon Islands South Africa Spain Sri Lanka
Suriname Swaziland Sweden Switzerland Taiwan Tajikistan Tanzania Thailand Tonga Trinidad & Tobago
Turks & Caicos Island Tuvalu UAE Uganda Ukraine United Kingdom Uruguay United States Uzbekistan Vanuatu
Vatican City-Holy See Venezuela Vietnam Zambia Zimbabwe          

Entry and Exit Points for Visiting India

Entry and exit points for visiting India refer to the designated ports of entry and exit that foreign nationals with valid visas can use to enter and leave the country. These entry and exit points play a crucial role in the visa application process, as they determine the validity of your visa and the duration of your stay in India.

As per Indian visa regulations, there are two main categories of entry points for visitors – international airports and seaports. The 28 designated international airports across India include major cities like New Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai, Bengaluru, Hyderabad, and more. These airports are well-connected to different parts of the country through domestic flights.

Visitors entering India by sea can do so through any of the five designated seaports – Mumbai Port Trust (Mumbai), Kolkata Port Trust (Kolkata), Cochin Port Trust (Kochi), Goa Port Trust (Goa), and Mangalore Sea Port (Mangalore). It’s important to note that not all seaports in India have immigration facilities, so it’s essential to check with your chosen port before making travel plans.

In addition to these designated entry points, visitors can also enter or exit India through land borders with neighboring countries like Nepal, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Myanmar or China. However, special permits may be required for these border crossings.

Can I visit India from any country in the world?

Yes, you can enter India from ANY country in the world into India. You need not be living in that country as a resident.

However, there is a limitation on which ports you can enter from and which ports you can exit from. Airports and Seaports are allowed for Entry into India on eVisa. While Airports, Seaports, Railway Ports and Land Ports are allowed for Exit from India on eVisa.

Frequently Asked Questions about India Visa Eligibility

Who is eligible to apply for a tourist visa to India?

Tourist visas are available for individuals who wish to visit India for tourism, recreation, or sightseeing purposes. This includes visiting friends and family, participating in cultural events, or exploring the country’s rich heritage. Citizens of most countries are eligible to apply for a tourist visa.

What are the requirements for a business visa to India?

Business visas are issued to foreign nationals who intend to travel to India for business-related activities such as attending meetings, conferences, or setting up new ventures. The applicant must have a valid passport with at least six months validity remaining and sufficient funds to cover their stay in India.

Can I apply for an Indian medical visa if I require treatment there?

Yes, medical visas are available for individuals seeking medical treatment in India. The patient must have a letter from a recognized medical institution in India stating that they require specialized treatment that is not available in their home country.

Are there any age restrictions on applying for an Indian visa?

No, there are no age restrictions on applying for an Indian visa; however, applicants under the age of 18 must provide additional documentation such as parental consent and birth certificate.

Is there a limit on how long I can stay in India on a tourist visa?

The maximum duration of stay on a tourist visa is 180 days per visit with multiple entries allowed within this period.

Can I extend my tourist visa while I am in India?

It is possible to extend your tourist visa while you are in India by filling out the appropriate application and paying the necessary fees at the Foreigners Regional Registration Office (FRRO) nearest you.

How long does it take to process an Indian visa application?

The processing time varies depending on factors such as nationality and type of visa applied for but generally takes anywhere from 3-5 business days for a standard application.

Can I apply for an Indian visa if my passport is expiring soon?

No, the passport must have a minimum validity of six months remaining at the time of applying for an Indian visa. If your passport is expiring soon, you will need to renew it before applying.

Are there any restrictions on activities allowed on a tourist visa?

Tourist visas do not allow individuals to engage in any form of employment or business activities while in India. Violating this could lead to deportation and possible future visa rejections.

Can I apply for an Indian visa online?

Yes, e-visas are available for eligible citizens of certain countries who wish to visit India for tourism, business or medical purposes. The application process is entirely online and allows for quick processing times.